Français |   English    

           Cliquez here     

        Faceboook       

The Basilica of Our Lady of Peace of Yamoussoukro is the largest Christian religious building in the world. Its appearance is similar to that of St. Peter's Basilica in Rome. The Guinness Book of Records has recognized it in 1989 as the largest religious building in the Christian world. The Basilica is still today a place of fervent Catholic faith in Africa. It is guarded by the Pallottin Fathers.

The first stone of the edifice was laid in August 10, 1985 and blessed by Pope John Paul II. The Basilica is built on an area of 325 acres. The central part of the Basilica, majestic, rising to 58 m high and 100 m in diameter, is surmounted by a dome of 90 meters in diameter and 60 m high. It can hold 18,000 persons with 7,000 seated and can accommodate tens of thousands of followers on his huge square and under the huge carved columns of its peristyle. From its esplanade you can visit showrooms which are open, one of which shows a wooden Bethlehem manger made by Mr. Basile, an Ivory Coast sculptor. The seats inside the basilica diffuse an air conditioning system. On one of the rows located close to the altar one can see the seat on which President Felix Houphouët-Boigny sat down to attend mass. The dome of the building makes it the world's highest Basilica.

The Basilica of Yamoussoukro has the largest area of stained glass in the world. A team of fourteen different nationalities worked to achieve this majestic stained glass building, illustrating the name of the Basilica: OUR LADY OF PEACE.


CONTACTS
Tel: (+225) 30 64 10 00
Fax: (+225) 30 64 13 21
Email: info@sodertour.ci
  www.ndpbasilique.org    Suivez-nous

Français |   English    

           Cliquez ici     

        Faceboook       

La basilique Notre-Dame de la Paix de Yamoussoukro est l'édifice religieux chrétien le plus grand au monde. Son apparence rappelle celle de la basilique Saint-Pierre à Rome. Le livre Guinness des records l'a reconnue en 1989 comme le plus grand édifice religieux chrétien au monde. La Basilique est encore aujourd'hui un lieu fervent de la foi catholique en Afrique. Elle est gardée par les pères Pallotins.

La première pierre de l'édifice a été posée le 10 août 1985 et bénie par le Pape Jean-Paul II. La basilique est bâtie sur une surface de 130 hectares. La partie centrale de la basilique, majestueuse, culmine à 58 m de hauteur et avec 100 m de diamètre, elle est surmontée d'un dôme de 90 m de diamètre et 60 m de hauteur. Elle peut contenir 18 000 places dont 7 000 assises et peut accueillir des dizaines de milliers de fidèles sur son immense parvis ainsi que sous les gigantesques colonnes sculptées de son péristyle. De ses terrasses vous pouvez visiter des salles d'exposition dont deux sont ouvertes, l'une d'elle présente la crèche de Bethléem réalisée en bois par M. Basile, un sculpteur ivoirien. Les sièges à l'intérieur de la basilique diffusent un système de climatisation.Sur l'une des rangées situées non loin de l'autel l'on peut voir le siège sur lequel le Président Félix Houphouët-Boigny s'asseyait pour assister à la messe. La coupole fait de l'édifice la Basilique la plus haute du monde.

La basilique de Yamoussoukro possède la plus grande surface de vitraux au monde. Une équipe composée de quatorze nationalités différentes a œuvré pour la réalisation de ces majestueux vitraux, illustrant ainsi le nom de la Basilique : NOTRE DAME DE LA PAIX


CONTACTS
Tel: (+225) 30 64 10 00
Fax: (+225) 30 64 13 21
Email: info@sodertour.ci
  www.ndpbasilique.org    Suivez-nous